sitemap Japanese
SCJ Top Page > About SCJ > Vice Presidents

Vice Presidents

Vice-President in charge of Organizational Management

Mayumi Mochizuki
Professor Emeritus, Keio University

After working at Nippon Roche KK (currently Chugai Pharmaceutical), Kitasato University Hospital, Associate Professor at the Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Chiba University, Professor at Kitasato University School of Pharmacy, Professor at Kyoritsu University of Pharmacy, and Professor at Keio University Faculty of Pharmacy, she is now an emeritus professor at Keio University. Her specialty is drug informatics, and she is a former member of the Pharmaceutical Affairs and Food Sanitation Council of the Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare.
She is currently the Vice Chairman of the Science Council of Japan and an Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member of Sumitomo Dainippon Pharma. In terms of academic societies, she is a director of the Pharmaceutical Society of Japan, a director of Japanese Society of Drug Information, an auditor of the Japanese Society of Pharmaceutical Health Care and Sciences, and a director of Japanese Society of Pharmacoepidemiology.

Vice-President in charge of Contacts with Government

Koichi Hishida
Professor Emeritus, Keio University
Professor, Meiji University,
Organization for the Strategic Coordination of Research and Intellectual Properties

Koichi Hishida received M.S.(1978) and PhD(1982) degrees in the department of Mechanical engineering from Keio University where he specialized in experimental fluid mechanics and heat transfer.His research includes experiments on turbulent two-phase flow, heat transfer controlling, development of laser based instrumentation for micro-nano scale flow measurements.
He was associate editor of Experiments in Fluid until 2019, and advisory board member of Measurement Science and Technology (IOP), Fluid Dynamic Research, and organizing committee member of several international conferences. He was elected to a Fellow of the Institute of Physics as a chartered physicist (CPhys FinstP) in 1999.
He has retired Keio University at the end of March 2019, and is currently Professor of Meiji University. He has served as many presidents of Japanese societies such as Fluid Mechanics(2007), Visualization (2010), Heat Transfer (2017), and Multiphase Flow(2012), in additions of executive board members of Japanese Society of Mechanical Engineers. He is presently a vice president of the Science Council of Japan, and chairperson of Japanese consortium of Applied Theoretical Mechanics from June, 2019 .

Vice-President in charge of International Activities

Yukari Takamura
Professor at the Institute for Future Initiatives, The University of Tokyo

She serves as Vice President since October 2020. She is Professor at the Institute for Future Initiatives, The University of Tokyo.
After receiving Master of Laws (Public International Law) from Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo, she was appointed Associate Professor at Shizuoka University.Before joining the University of Tokyo in 2018, she worked as Professor at Ryukoku University, Kyoto, and Professor at Nagoya University, Japan. She also studied at Graduate School of University of Paris II (Pantheon-Assas), France and was Visiting Researcher at University of London, U.K.
Specializing international law and environmental law, her research focuses on legal and governance issues relating to multilateral environmental agreements as well as climate and energy laws and policies.
She is member of the Editorial Board of Journal Sustainability Science and of the Editorial Advisory Board of Journal Climate Policy. She is member of Board of Directors of Japanese Society for Environmental Economics and Policy Studies as well as member of Board of Executive Directors of Japanese Society for Environmental Law and Policy Studies.
She serves as member of governmental advisory bodies, among others, Central Environmental Council as President, and Procurement Price Calculation Committee for Feed-in Tariff Scheme for Renewable Energy as chair. She is member of Advisory Group on Climate Change and Sustainable Development of ADB. She received Environmental Conservation Merit's Minister of the Environment Award in 2018.
SCIENCE COUNCIL OF JAPAN  7-22-34, Roppongi, Minato-ku, Tokyo 106-8555, Japan