International Conference on Science and Technology for Sustainability

Theme: Transdisciplinarity for Global Sustainability: Strategies for Research and Capacity Building

Organizer: SCJ Co-Organizing Organization:UNU

Date: July18, 2014

Venue: Auditorium, Science Council of Japan

Friday,	July 18th, 2014		*Program and Speakers are subject to change.
TIME	PROGRAMME		SPEAKER
Opening Remarks			
13:00 13:05	Opening Remarks	Takashi Onishi	President, Science Council of Japan
13:05 13:10	Address	Kazuhiko Takemoto	Director,Institute for Advanced Study of Sustainability(UNU-IAS)
13:10 13:30	Introductory Speech	Kazuhiko Takeuchi	Senior Vice-Rector, United Nations University (Chair, Organizing Committee)
Session 1			
13:30 13:55	Speech 1	Tetsuzo Yasunari	Director-General, Research Institute for Humanity and Nature, Japan Future Earth and its implication in Asia[Abstracts (PDFfile)]
13:55 14:20	Speech 2	Kaoru Sugihara	Senior Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Japan The Sustainability Path in Monsoon Asia: A Global Agenda [Abstracts (PDFfile)]
14:20 14:45	Speech (online)	Frans Berkhout	Interim Director, Future Earth Future Earth: transformative knowledge for sustainability[Abstracts (PDFfile)]
Tea Break 14:45-15:00			
Session 2			
15:00 15:25	Speech 3	Yukio Himiyama	Professor of Geography, Hokkaido University of Education, Japan Re-visiting "Sapporo Declaration on Glocal Environmental Education" for Future Earth [Abstracts (PDFfile)]
15:25 15:50	Speech 4	R.B. Singh	Professor, Department of Geography, Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi, India Innovation in Research on Disaster and Global Sustainability: The Role of Geospatial Technology and Participatory Capacity Building in India [Abstracts (PDFfile)]
15:50 16:15	Speech 5	Eun-Kyung Park	Chair, Korean National Committee on ESD for UNESCO, Korea ESD as Strategy for Awareness and Capacity Building for Sustainability [Abstracts (PDFfile)]
Tea Break 16:15-16:30			
16:30 18:00	General Discussion		
18:00 18:05	Closing Remarks	Fumiko Kasuga	Vice President, Science Council of Japan
Closing 18:05			