## List of participants

Norio Akasaka Professor, Department of Japanese Language and Literature,

Gakushuin University, Japan (Session 3 Speaker)

Daniel P. Aldrich Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Purdue

University, USA (Session 1 Speaker)

Cristina Castel-Branco Professor, Institute Superior de Agronomia, Technical University of

Lisbon, Portugal (Session 3 Speaker)

Dedi Fardiaz Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology, Faculty of

Agricultural Engineering and Technology, Bogor Agricultural

University, Indonesia (Session 2 Speaker)

Michael W. Hamm

C.S. Mott Professor of Sustainable Agriculture, Director, Center for

Regional Food Systems, Michigan State University, USA

(Session 2 Speaker)

Mohamed H. A. Hassan Professor, IAP Co-Chair (Keynote Speech)

Mikiko Ishikawa Professor, Graduate School of Engineering, Department of Urban

Engineering, The University of Tokyo, Japan

(Session 3 Co-Chair and Speaker, Member, Organization Committee)

Yasushi Iwamoto Professor, Graduate School of Economics, The University of Tokyo,

Japan (Session 1 Co-Chair, Member, Organization Committee)

Fumiko Kasuga Vice-President, Science Council of Japan

(Member, Organization Committee)

Yoshiaki Kobayashi Vice-President, Science Council of Japan

(Member, Organization Committee)

Kiyoshi Kurokawa Academic Fellow, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies

Past President, Science Council of Japan, Japan (Keynote Speech)

Akira Morita Professor, Faculty of Law, Gakushuin University

Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo, Japan

(Session 1 Speaker)

Norihiro Nakai Professor, Graduate School of Decision Science and Technology,

Tokyo Institute Technology, Japan (Session 3 Speaker)

Masayoshi Nakashima Director and Professor, Disaster Prevention Research Institute, Kyoto

University, Japan (Session 3 Speaker)

Yoko Niiyama Professor, Graduate School of Agriculture, Kyoto University, Japan

(Session 2 Speaker)

Noboru Noguchi Professor, Research Faculty of Agriculture, Hokkaido University,

Japan (Session 2 Co-Chair, Member, Organization Committee)

Ilan Noy Associate Professor, School of Economics and Finance, Victoria

University of Wellington, New Zealand (Session 1 Speaker)

Tetsuji Okazaki Professor of Economic History, Faculty of Economics, The University

of Tokyo, Japan (Session 1 Speaker)

Takashi Onishi President, Science Council of Japan

(Chair, Member, Organization Committee)

Etsuro Shioji Professor, Graduate School of Economics, Hitotsubashi University,

Japan (Session 1 Speaker)

Shinichi Shogenji Professor, Graduate School of Bioagricultural Sciences and School of

Agricultural Sciences, Nagoya University, Japan (Vice-Chair, Chair, Organization Committee)

Masato Takeichi Vice-President, Science Council of Japan

(Member, Organization Committee)

Kazuhiko Takeuchi Senior Vice-Rector, United Nations University (Opening Remarks)

Noriko Tsuya Professor, Faculty of Economics, Keio University, Japan

(Session 1 Co-Chair, Member, Organization Committee)

Shunichi Yamashita Vice President, Fukushima Medical University, Japan (Session 2)

Speaker)

Peter I. Yanev President and Earthquake, Structural, and Risk Engineer, Yanev

Associates, USA (Session 3 Speaker)

Yasuhiro Yoshikawa Professor, Chiba Institute of Science, Japan

(Session 2 Co-Chair, Member, Organization Committee)

Akira Wada Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Insitute of Technology, Japan

(Session 3 Co-Chair, Member, Organization Committee)

Shugo Watabe Professor, School of Marine Biosciences, Kitasato University, Japan

(Session 2 Speaker)