Statement

A Call for Careful Consideration of the Amendment of the Law concerning the Science Council of Japan

Science is a noble intellectual endeavor of humanity, and its development is indispensable for realizing the progress and well-being of humankind. Each country has its national academy, which represents the scientific community and which constitutes part of the international public good that contributes to the well-being of humanity through cooperation with the worldwide scientific community. Governments of civilized countries have made it an unwritten norm to respect the autonomy of national academies and not to intervene in their activities.

It is, therefore, of great concern that the former Prime Minister refused to appoint six council members of the Science Council of Japan, a national academy of Japan, in 2020. This has impaired trust between the Government and academia. Furthermore, it is reported that the Government is currently considering the amendment of the Law concerning the Science Council of Japan. We are greatly concerned that this amendment may damage the independence of the Science Council of Japan. This is not simply a bilateral issue between the Cabinet Office and the Science Council of Japan. Rather, it could lead to a fundamental and critical issue of the independence of academia.

We hope that Japan will be a country that contributes to humanity through academia and demonstrate an intellectual presence to the world. Likewise, we earnestly hope that the government will reconsider its hasty amendment of the law and hold more and careful deliberations with the Science Council of Japan to enable it to fulfill its responsibilities as a national academy.

February 19, 2023

AMANO Hiroshi (Nobel laureate in Physics 2014) OHSUMI Yoshinori (Nobel laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2016) KOBAYASHI Makoto (Nobel laureate in Physics 2008) SHIRAKAWA Hideki (Nobel laureate in Chemistry 2000) SUZUKI Akira (Nobel laureate in Chemistry 2010) NOYORI Ryoji (Nobel laureate in Chemistry 2001) HONJO Tasuku (Nobel laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2018) MORI Shigefumi (Fields Medalist 1990)