April 13, 2023

## Joint statement of Nobel Laureates in support of the statement by eight Japanese scientists

We, the undersigned Nobel laureates, express our support for the statement by seven Japanese Nobel laureates and one Fields medalist.

In the statement "A Call for Careful Consideration of the Amendment of the Law concerning the Science Council of Japan" <sup>(1)</sup>, the eight Japanese scientists expressed their concerns:

- The former Prime Minister's refusal to appoint six council members of the Science Council of Japan in 2020, which has impaired trust between the Government and academia.
- The planned amendment of the Law concerning the Science Council of Japan by the Government <sup>(2)</sup> may damage the independence of the Science Council of Japan: This could lead to a fundamental and critical issue of the independence of academia.

(1) https://www.scj.go.jp/ja/info/kohyo/pdf/seimei230219en.pdf

(2) https://www.scj.go.jp/ja/info/kohyo/pdf/230207-explanationnote.pdf

We, the sixty-one Science Nobel laureates, share their concerns and hopes that were expressed by the eight Japanese scientists: Science is a noble intellectual endeavor of humanity, and its development is indispensable for realizing the progress and well-being of humankind, and Japan will be a country that contributes to humanity through academia and demonstrate an intellectual presence to the world.

We, therefore, fully support the statement by the eight Japanese scientists.

Thomas R. Cech (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1989) Aaron Ciechanover (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2004) Elias James Corey (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1990) Johann Deisenhofer (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1988) Gerhard Ertl (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2007) (continued) Joachim Frank (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2017) Alan Heeger (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2000) Richard Henderson (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2017) Roald Hoffmann (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1981) Martin Karplus (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2013) Brian K. Kobilka (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2012) Roger D. Kornberg (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2006) Yuan T. Lee (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1986) Tomas Lindahl (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2015) David W.C. MacMillan (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2021) Hartmut Michel (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1988) Paul L. Modrich (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2015) William E. Moerner (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2014) John C. Polanyi (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1986) Richard R. Schrock (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2005) Sir John E. Walker (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1997) Kurt Wuthrich (The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2002) J. Michael Bishop (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1989) Peter C. Doherty (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1996) Carol W. Greider (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2009) Jeffrey Connor Hall (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2017) H. Robert Horvitz (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2002) Tim Hunt (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2001) Louis J. Ignarro (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1998) William G. Kaelin Jr. (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2019) Barry J. Marshall (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2005) May-Britt Moser (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2014) Sir Paul M. Nurse (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2001) Stanley B. Prusiner (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1997) Sir Richard J. Roberts (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1993) Michael Rosbash (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2017) Phillip A. Sharp (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1993) Thomas C. Sudhof (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2013) (continued)

Jack W. Szostak (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2009) Torsten N. Wiesel (The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1981) Barry Clark Barish (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2017) Steven Chu (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1997) Albert Fert (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2007) Andre Geim (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2010) Sheldon Glashow (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1979) David J. Gross (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2004) Klaus Hasselmann (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2021) Wolfgang Ketterle (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2001) Anthony J. Leggett (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2003) John C. Mather (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2006) Michel Mayor (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2019) Arthur B. McDonald (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2015) Konstantin Novoselov (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2010) Giorgio Parisi (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2021) Brian P. Schmidt (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2011) Horst L. Stormer (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1998) Joseph H. Taylor Jr. (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1993) Kip Stephen Thorne (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2917) Daniel C. Tsui (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1998) Carl E. Wieman (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 2001) Robert Woodrow Wilson (The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1978)